Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
A Galway Epiphany
A Galway Epiphany Ken Bruen

Jack Taylor is in a coma.

Hit by a truck in front of Galway's Famine Memorial, emergency care provided by two strange children. And apart from the lack of consciousness, not a scratch on him.

When he wakes weeks later, Ireland is in a frenzy over the so-called 'Miracle of Galway.' People have become convinced that the two children are saintly, the site of the accident sacred. The Catholic Church isn't so sure, and Jack is commissioned to help find the children and verify the miracle or expose the stunt.

But Jack isn't the only one looking for them. There's a fraudulent order of nuns that needs to legitimatize its sanctity. And there's someone else: the building in which the children are living burns down, with one of the children and the nuns inside, and the doors bolted.

Jack suspects the surviving girl might be more sinister than miraculous. He sends her to live on the farm he had hoped to retire to, but is troubled by the manipulative control she seems to exert. His worst fears will soon be realised.

Sharp and sardonic as ever, 'the Godfather of the modern Irish crime novel' (Irish Independent) is at his brutal and ceaselessly suspenseful best in A Galway Epiphany.

Head of Zeus * Crime Fiction
01 Apr 2021 * 336pp * £6.99 * 9781838939311

'Bruen is one of Ireland's most original voices in crime fiction, with his stunning, poetic look at the shadowy side of life. His precise, skeletal, yet strangely lyrical prose, unorthodox wordplay, dark-as-sin humour and wonderful evocation of the country and its people have carried this longrunning series to triumph after triumph' Crime Review.

'Grimly hilarious and gloriously Irish' Washington Post.

'It shouldn't work, but it does, delightfully' The Times.
Ken Bruen
Ken Bruen
Ken Bruen received a doctorate in metaphysics, taught English in South Africa, and then became a crime novelist. The critically acclaimed author of fourteen previous Jack Taylor novels and The White Trilogy, he is the recipient of two Barry Awards and two Shamus Awards and has twice been a finalist for the Edgar Award.
ALSO BY Ken Bruen
The Ghosts of Galway
In the Galway Silence
Galway Girl
The Book of Virtue
Greasing the Piñata
Dry Heat
Arizona Dreams
South Phoenix Rules
3 Great Female Detectives
3 Great Hardboiled Crime Novels
The Kate Shugak Investigation - Box Set
The Night Detectives
Some Like It Hot
Blood, ash and Bone
The Pants On Fire Detective Agency - Box Set
Phoenix Cold Cases - Box set
San Francisco Noir - Box Set
The Master Falconer
The Body in the Mithraeum
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 16
It's In The Book
Rides A Stranger
What's In A Name
Death Leaves A Bookmark
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 17
The Book Thing
The Long Sonata of the Dead
The Scroll
Pronghorns of the Third Reich
An Acceptable Sacrifice
She'll Break But She Won't Bend: Meet DI Hanlon, Britain's Fierce New Crime Heroine
The Final Testament
The Book of Virtue
The Book of Ghosts
Book Club
Eye for an Eye
The Runaway
Fallen into the Pit
Death and the Joyful Woman
Flight of a Witch
A Nice Derangement of Epitaphs
The Piper on the Mountain
Black is the Colour of My True Love's Heart
The Grass Widow's Tale