Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Death Sentences
Death Sentences: Stories of Deathly Books, Murderous Booksellers and Lethal Literature edited by Otto Penzler, introduction by Ian Rankin

'What treats you have in store!' IAN RANKIN.

Who knew literature could be so lethal? Here are 20 specially commissioned stories about deadly books from the world's best crime writers. By turns hair-raising and playful, packed with twists and turns, literary references and bookish conundrums, this is a treasure chest of bloodthirsty bibliophilia.

Death Sentences has stories to die for from:

Ian Rankin,
Jeffery Deaver,
Denise Mina,
C.J. Box,
Anne Perry,
Peter Robinson,
Stephen Hunter,
Ken Bruen,
Laura Lippman,
F. Paul Wilson,
Mickey Spillane & Max Allan Collins,
Joyce Carol Oates,
Peter Lovesey,
Megan Abbott,
R. L. Stine,
Andrew Taylor,
Joe R. Lansdale,
John Connolly,
Christopher Fowler and
Nelson DeMille.

Head of Zeus * Crime Fiction
05 Sep 2019 * 784pp * £6.99 * 9781838932893
A treasure chest of bloodthirsty bibliophilia... A delightful, ingenious, specially commissioned anthology, both hair-raising and playful, packed with baffling plots, unlikely characters, literary references and bookish conundrums'
The Good Book Guide
'We tend to imagine book lovers, librarians and bibliophiles of all stripes as quiet, gentle folk. In Death Sentences, however, book lovers are bludgeoned to death by their precious tomes, crushed by falling bookshelves, shoved down library stairs, or blown to death by a bomb smuggled into their private library'
Irish Examiner
'One of the finest multi-author collections in a long time'
Sunday Herald
Otto Penzler
Otto Penzler
Otto Penzler, series editor, is the founder of the Mysterious Press (1975), Mysterious (2011) and New York City's Mysterious Bookshop (1979). He has won a Raven, the Ellery Queen Award, two Edgars and lifetime achievement awards from Noircon and The Strand Magazine. He has edited more than 70 anthologies and written extensively about crime fiction.

Ian Rankin

Ian Rankin
Ian Rankin is the bestselling author of the Inspector Rebus and Detective Malcom Fox novels. His books have been translated into thirty-six languages. He is the recipient of four CWA Dagger Awards and an Edgar Award.
ALSO BY Ian Rankin
The Travelling Companion
Greasing the Piñata
Dry Heat
Arizona Dreams
South Phoenix Rules
3 Great Female Detectives
3 Great Hardboiled Crime Novels
The Kate Shugak Investigation - Box Set
The Night Detectives
Some Like It Hot
Blood, ash and Bone
The Pants On Fire Detective Agency - Box Set
Phoenix Cold Cases - Box set
San Francisco Noir - Box Set
The Master Falconer
The Body in the Mithraeum
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 16
It's In The Book
Rides A Stranger
What's In A Name
Death Leaves A Bookmark
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 17
The Book Thing
The Long Sonata of the Dead
The Scroll
Pronghorns of the Third Reich
An Acceptable Sacrifice
The Final Testament
The Book of Virtue
The Book of Ghosts
Book Club
Eye for an Eye
The Runaway
Fallen into the Pit
Death and the Joyful Woman
Flight of a Witch
A Nice Derangement of Epitaphs
The Piper on the Mountain
Black is the Colour of My True Love's Heart
The Grass Widow's Tale
The House of Green Turf