Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Maror by Lavie Tidhar

Set in Israel across four decades, Maror is a story of life and death, politics and history, perfect for fans of Pachinko or A Little Life.

Like a spray of bullets from an Uzi, Maror's mosaic sections add up to a massacre of a novel, leaving a bloodied trail of sacred cows in its wake.

It is the story of a war for the soul of a nation.

It is a true story.

All of these things happened.

Tel Aviv, 2004. A bomb attack kills five people. Two of them are children.

Policeman-cum-hitman Avi Sagi is tasked with solving the murder – clean. His superior officer is known only as Cohen. A man who moves silent as a shadow through the years.

Who could be so ruthless as to kill a child?

In 1974, the body of a young woman is found on the beach. Young constables Eddie and Cohen are attached to the case. The investigation takes them to the left-wing radicals at first suspected, and then to the war vet they are tasked with putting in jail for the murder – by any means necessary.

But the deaths continue.

In 1977 a journalist searches for the truth behind a string of nascent land deals in the newly occupied West Bank. But what she discovers puts her and everyone around her in danger.

In 1982 a small-time gangster travels into the heart of darkness that is the Lebanese Civil War, determined to make his name in drugs. In 1985 a woman murders a Holocaust survivor for her money. In 1987 Los Angeles an Israeli couple is brutally slaughtered, and in 1989 Colombia the young Israelis training the drug cartels get more than they bargained for.

How do they all connect? Only Cohen knows. Cohen, a man who loves his country.

And in 1995 a young Avi Sagi gets a chance at redemption, during one long hot summer of rock music, love and the promise of peace...

This is a novel about love. About hate. About the things people do to each other. Digging deep into historical archives, Lavie Tidhar has conjured up a riveting and bloodied history and brought it back to glorious technicolour life.

Just remember.

This is all true.

May the ghosts here captured one day rest in peace.

Head of Zeus, an Apollo book * Fiction
04 Aug 2022 * 516pp * £7.99 * 9781838931384
Author
Lavie Tidhar
Lavie Tidhar
Lavie Tidhar is the World Fantasy Award-winning author of Osama (2011), The Violent Century (2013), the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize-winning A Man Lies Dreaming (2014), and the Campbell Award-winning Central Station (2016), in addition to many other works and several other awards. He works across genres, combining detective and thriller modes with poetry, science fiction and historical and autobiographical material. His work has been compared to that of Philip K. Dick by the Guardian and the Financial Times, and to Kurt Vonnegut's by Locus.
ALSO BY Lavie Tidhar
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Tim
The Thorn Birds
An Indecent Obsession
The Fundamentals of Caring
Something Quite Beautiful
The Game
A Christmas Wish
No Greater Love - Box Set
The Ten Pound Ticket
Little Sisters
Praxis
The Cloning of Joanna May
The Rules of Life
Darcy's Utopia
Life Force
Splitting
The Shrapnel Academy
Worst Fears
Leader Of The Band
Moon Over Minneapolis
Polaris
Wicked Women
Fay Weldon Omnibus
The Ted Dreams
Three-and-a-Half Heartbeats
The Royal We
Little Miracle
The Perfect Marriage
Imogen's Baby
Miss Potterton's Birthday Tea
Secrets We Keep
The Other Wives Club
Just the Two of Us
A Life Without You
The Prophet
In White Ink
The Christmas Café
Bosnian Chronicle
Second Chance Café
The Conductor