Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Women of Waterloo Bridge: the heart-wrenching WW2 saga of 2020 Jan Casey

London, 1940.

After her fiancé breaks off their engagement, Evelyn decides to do her part for the war effort by signing up for construction work on Waterloo Bridge. Enjoying the physical work and her newfound purpose, she begins to realise that there could be so much more to her life than anything she'd ever dared to dream of.

Grieving after her little boy dies in an air raid, Gwen is completely lost when her husband sends their younger children to the countryside for safety. Enlisting as a construction worker, she is partnered with cheerful Evelyn. Despite Gwen's initial reticence, the two women strike up a heartwarming friendship – but will it be enough to save Gwen from her sorrow?

Musical prodigy Joan's life has always been dictated by her controlling mother. When an affair nearly ends in scandal, Joan finally takes her life into her own hands. Determined never to touch a violin again, she soon finds work at Waterloo Bridge. Yet there are other troubles for her to overcome...

For these three women, only one thing is certain: the Second World War will change their lives forever. A heart-wrenching new WW2 saga for fans of Jenny Holmes and Soraya M. Lane.

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Historical Fiction
21 May 2020 * 320pp * £2.99 * 9781838930738
Author

Jan Casey

Jan Casey
Jan has twice been highly commended in the National Centre for Writing Escalator Awards. She has had a short story published in Prima magazine, a short story published on the Norwich: City of Stories website and two flash fiction printed on bookmarks for the Norwich: City of Stories campaign. The Women of Waterloo Bridge is her first novel. Jan enjoys reading, walking and cooking and lives with her husband in Norwich. You can follow her on Twitter @JanCaseyAuthor or find her on Facebook at facebook.com/JanCaseyAuthor
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE