Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Trust
The Trust by M.H. Eccleston
 Astrid Swift, 1

Ever so wholesome.
Ever so deadly...

When art restorer Astrid Swift moved from London to the Dorset village of Hanbury, she thought she was heading for a quiet life. Far from it. A local man has just been murdered in the English Trust stately home where Astrid works, and the sleepy community is shaken to its core.

Soon Astrid has discovered the shocking truth about her employer: rather than being the genteel organisation it seems on the surface, the Trust is a hotbed of politics and intrigue. As Astrid's new friend Kath from the village says: 'It's like the mafia, but with scones.'

As the suspicious deaths mount up, Astrid must use every gadget in her restorer's toolkit to solve the mystery, salvage her reputation – and maybe even save her life.

Thrilling, funny and unputdownable, The Trust is perfect for fans of Richard Osman, Robert Thorogood and Clare Chase.

Praise for The Trust:

'I romped through The Trust... A cosy debut set in a house brimming with secrets... An enchanting murder mystery' Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal
'Macabre murders, quirky characters and delightful settings combine in a way that would make Midsomer proud' Crime Fiction Lover
'A feisty heroine, an ingenious plot and a cast of quirky characters that soon feel like your best friends, make The Trust a cozy crime to savour' Merryn Allingham, author of The Bookshop Murder
'Intelligent and gently humorous, with a suitably eccentric cast of characters' M S Morris, author of the Bridget Hart books

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Crime Fiction
03 Feb 2022 * 336pp * £0.99 * 9781803280349
REVIEWS
'I romped through The Trust... A cosy debut set in a house brimming with secrets... An enchanting murder mystery'
Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal
'A feisty heroine, an ingenious plot and a cast of quirky characters that soon feel like your best friends, make The Trust a cozy crime to savour'
Merryn Allingham
'Intelligent and gently humorous, with a suitably eccentric cast of characters'
M S Morris
'Macabre murders, quirky characters and delightful settings combine in a way that would make Midsomer proud'
Crime Fiction Lover
'It should be read in one sitting either by a lazy river or a roaring pub fire. Difficult to put down'
Bill Goodall
'I'd recommend this for a cosy, quick read'
Yours
ALSO IN THE SERIES
Death on the Isle
Death Comes to the Costa del Sol
Author
M.H. Eccleston
M.H. Eccleston
M.H. Eccleston has had a fairly meandering career – starting out as a radio presenter for the BBC, then staying at the Beeb as a journalist and producer for six years. After that, it's a bit of a blur – he spent a couple of decades, at least, freelancing as a foreign correspondent, TV presenter, voice-over artist and film critic. For the last few years he's been a full-time screenwriter and now novelist. He lives in Ealing with his family, which is ruled by a mischievous Frenchie called George.
ALSO BY M.H. Eccleston
Death on the Isle
Death Comes to the Costa del Sol
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Greasing the Piñata
Dry Heat
Arizona Dreams
South Phoenix Rules
3 Great Female Detectives
3 Great Hardboiled Crime Novels
The Kate Shugak Investigation - Box Set
The Night Detectives
Some Like It Hot
Blood, ash and Bone
The Pants On Fire Detective Agency - Box Set
Phoenix Cold Cases - Box set
San Francisco Noir - Box Set
The Master Falconer
The Body in the Mithraeum
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 16
It's In The Book
Rides A Stranger
What's In A Name
Death Leaves A Bookmark
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 17
The Book Thing
The Long Sonata of the Dead
The Scroll
Pronghorns of the Third Reich
An Acceptable Sacrifice
The Final Testament
The Book of Virtue
The Book of Ghosts
Book Club
Eye for an Eye
The Runaway
Fallen into the Pit
Death and the Joyful Woman
Flight of a Witch
A Nice Derangement of Epitaphs
The Piper on the Mountain
Black is the Colour of My True Love's Heart
The Grass Widow's Tale
The House of Green Turf