Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Orphan Girl
The Orphan Girl: A Beautiful World War One Saga of Found Family and Hidden Secrets by Chrissie Walsh

Will she discover the secret of her past?

1901, West Yorkshire. When Eli Simmonite takes in a heavily pregnant woman fleeing from peril, he feels sure no good will come of it. After all, settled folk don't need much reason to take against the travellers, so having one seek safety amongst his people is unheard of.

When danger comes knocking they leave devastation and a newborn child in their wake. Eli is left with the baby girl and his orphaned grandson; a reminder of the offer of aid that cost him his family.

With no kin but the adopted family who hold her responsible for their demise, this girl named Rosie Nobody is filled with questions of her past. But with war looming in all of their futures, questions must be put aside: survival is the key.

A compelling and beautifully written historical WWI saga of family secrets and triumph in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and AnneMarie Brear.

Readers love The Orphan Girl!

'What a wonderful book ... It is really well written and very enjoyable, keeping the reader engrossed and gripped until the very last page' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'I could not fault any of this book, as the author brings all the characters to life, its such an interesting story that will engross readers all the way through. Loved it' Booklover Bev, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Just finished this and read it in one day, it was that good ... Very enchanting storyline and would love another instalment' Slouchie Hats, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'What a brilliant book about the travelling family. If you like family sagas based in wartime you will love this book' Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Wonderful way of words and brings the story and characters to life. Endearing' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Really well written and very enjoyable, keeping the reader engrossed and gripped until the very last page' NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Historical Fiction
11 Nov 2021 * 376pp * £2.99 * 9781801105583
REVIEWS
'This wonderful book is a testament to this haunting land'
Sunday Times
'Riley manages to bring multi-faceted, polyglot and multi-cultural Roman Britain to vibrant life'
Country Life
'A must for all interested in the Roman empire and Roman Britain'
British Archaeology
'Bronwen Riley writes superbly'
Independent
'Strap on your colleague, or marching boots, and head off on an epic journey across the Roman Empire in this entertaining read'
History Revealed
'A brilliant idea, to describe the journey of Julius Severus as he travelled from Rome to Britain to take up his new post of governor of Britain ... Well written, eminently readable ... It is a must for all interested in the Roman Empire and Roman Britain'
Prof David J Breeze, author of Hadrian's Wall: A History of Archaeological Thought and Roman Scotland
'If you've ever wondered what it felt like to travel from Rome to the northernmost outposts of the empire, this is the book for you ... Bronwen Riley brings the long journey by sea and land to life, describing sights, sounds, smells, colours and textures'
Cumbria Life
Author

Chrissie Walsh

Chrissie Walsh
Born and raised in West Yorkshire, Chrissie trained to be a singer and cellist before becoming a teacher. When she married her trawler skipper husband, they moved to a little fishing village in Northern Ireland. Chrissie is passionate about history and that passion and knowledge shine through in her writing.
ALSO BY Chrissie Walsh
The Girl from the Mill
The Child from the Ash Pits
The Collier's Wife
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE