Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Blackstone Fell by Martin Edwards
 Rachel Savernake

Autumn 1930. As the nights draw in, Jacob Flint attends a séance. He's intending to investigate fraudulent mediums – but then a ghost appears with a message from the spirit world: 'Felix Reilly murdered me.'

The same evening, Rachel Savernake takes on an intriguing case. Ulick Quayle was investigating the three-hundred-year old story of The Witch of Blackstone, burned at the stake for her supposed murder of the local Lord. Now Ulick's body has been found on bleak and eerie Blackstone Moor, his corpse ripped to pieces.

Some of the villagers believe the Witch of Blackstone has returned from the dead. The police suspect an escaped inmate from a nearby asylum. But Ulick's sister is convinced that the culprit is someone much closer to home – and she's employed Rachel to investigate.

As Rachel starts to unravel a bizarre crime with its roots in the deep past, her friend and sometime lover Jacob is on a similar trail of murder and witchcraft. And both are leading to the ancient stone castle of Blackstone Tower...

Blacktone Fell explores the shadowy borderlands between spiritual and scientific; between sanity and madness; between sin and virtue. This is a mystery involving clerics, historians, scientists... and people who believe that Blackstone is a place controlled by dark and demonic forces, which might just take human form.

Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book * Crime Fiction
01 Sep 2022 * 448pp * £7.99 * 9781801100236
Martin Edwards
Martin Edwards
Martin Edwards has won the Edgar, Agatha, H.R.F. Keating, Macavity, Poirot and Dagger awards as well as being shortlisted for the Theakston's Prize. He is President of the Detection Club, Chair of the Crime Writer's Association and consultant to the British Library's bestselling crime classics series. In 2020 he was awarded the Diamond Dagger for his outstanding contribution to crime fiction.
ALSO BY Martin Edwards
Gallows Court
Mortmain Hall
Danger in the Wind
Forsaken Soul
Chambers of Death
Valley of Dry Bones
Killing Season
Three for a Letter
Four for a Boy
Five for Silver
Six for Gold
Seven for a Secret
Eight for Eternity
Nine for the Devil
3 Great Historical Mysteries
The Sanctity of Hate
Covenant With Hell
Medieval Mystery - Box Set II
Medieval Mystery - Box Set I
Death in Roman Britain - Box Set
Death in Byzantium - Box Set
The Queen's Man - Box Set
A Rare Benedictine: The Advent Of Brother Cadfael
A Morbid Taste For Bones
One Corpse Too Many
Monk's Hood
Saint Peter's Fair
The Leper Of Saint Giles
The Virgin In The Ice
The Sanctuary Sparrow
The Devil's Novice
Dead Man's Ransom
The Pilgrim Of Hate
An Excellent Mystery
The Raven In The Foregate
The Rose Rent
The Hermit Of Eyton Forest
The Confession Of Brother Haluin
The Heretic's Apprentice
The Potter's Field
The Summer Of The Danes
The Holy Thief