Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Performer's Tale
The Performer's Tale: The Nine Lives of Patience Collier Vanessa Morton

Though Patience Collier's name has faded from public consciousness since her death in 1987, it still conjures cool memories of iconic television and film from the 1970s and 1980s – Sapphire and Steel, Who Pays the Ferryman, Fiddler on the Roof and The French Lieutenant's Woman. Fearsome, eccentric and unpredictable, Patience Collier was an actress whose perfectionism shone through in her every performance. and who worked alongside many of the most celebrated actors and directors of her time.

Drawing on material from Collier's extensive archive of diaries, letters and photographs as well as interviews with many of those who worked with her (including Joanna Lumley, Zoë Wanamaker and Timothy West), The Performer's Tale paints an involving portrait of a gifted and eccentric woman weaving her way through the twentieth century, mixing with artists, leftists, and numerous figures from world of entertainment. But Vanessa Morton also offers a panoramic overview of theatre, film, TV and radio in Britain over half a century. Part social history, part cultural history, The Performer's Tale is a richly entertaining account of an actor's life and times.

Head of Zeus, an Apollo book * Biography
04 Mar 2021 * 336pp * £9.99 * 9781800245136

Vanessa Morton

Vanessa Morton
Vanessa Morton is a graduate of the Life-Writing MA, part of the celebrated Creative Writing school at the University of East Anglia. She won the Lorna Sage Memorial Prize and a distinction for her achivement there in 2010. She has a doctorate in social history, and has taught literature and social history at the University of Colorado, the Open University and UEA. Her first book, Travelling Towards War, was shortlisted for the East Anglian Book Awards in 2012. She lives in Norwich.
James Brown: The Godfather of Soul
Augustus John
Behind the Candelabra
A Star is Born
Swimming with Seals
No Modernism Without Lesbians
Frederick the Second
Happiness and Tears
Father of Lions
The Colour of the Sky After Rain
Jet Man
Sunshine and Laughter
The Performer's Tale