Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Girl I Left Behind
The Girl I Left Behind: An emotional, gripping and heartwrenching historical debut Andie Newton

'A powerful debut!' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife.

'A captivating story with a twist of romance threaded throughout' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan.

'A compelling tale of friendship, courage and espionage in a frightening and uncertain world' Charlotte Betts, author of The Dressmaker's Secret.

What would you risk to save your best friend?

As a young girl, Ella never considered that those around her weren't as they appeared. But when her childhood best friend shows Ella that you can't always believe what you see, Ella finds herself thrown into the world of the German Resistance.

On a dark night in 1941, Claudia is taken by the Gestapo, likely never to be seen again, unless Ella can save her. With the help of the man she loves, Ella must undertake her most dangerous mission yet and infiltrate the Nazi Party.

Selling secrets isn't an easy job. In order to find Claudia, Ella must risk not only her life, but the lives of those she cares about.

Will Ella be able to leave behind the girl of her youth and step into the shoes of another?

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The German Midwife and Kate Furnivall.

Praise for The Girl I Left Behind:

'A gripping historical page-turner about an audacious eighteen-year-old girl in Nazi Germany, who finds herself at the heart of the Reich. It's a thrilling tale of female friendship, young love, and extraordinary courage, laced with chilling reminders of the fate Ella will face if her treachery is discovered. A powerful debut!' Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife.

'The Girl I Left Behind made me cry and left me wanting more, which to me are signs of a truly wonderful book, one that will stay with me long after I've finished reading' Lana Kortchik, author of The Story of Us.

'Wonderful story where it has you on the edge of your seat but have the tissues with you!' NetGalley Reviewer.

'The author has a gift for creating a sense of place whether the setting was on a snowy mountain or the streets of Germany in the early 1940s' NetGalley Reviewer.

'Excellent story. Strong characters' NetGalley Reviewer.

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Action & Adventure
03 Oct 2019 * 320pp * £0.99 * 9781789546682
Author

Andie Newton

Andie Newton
Andie Newton is an American writer living in Washington State with her husband and two boys. She writes female-driven historical fiction set in WWII. The Girl I Left Behind was her first novel. She would love to say she spends her free time gardening and cooking, but she's killed everything she's ever planted and set off more fire alarms than she cares to admit. Andie does, however, love spending time with her family, ultra trail running, and drinking copious amounts of coffee.
ALSO BY Andie Newton
The Girl from Vichy
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
The Veterans
Glory Thrown In
Traitor's Gate
The Valley
The Nurses of St Croix
The Twenty Thousand Thieves
Finisterre
Airborne
Aurore
Breakout at Stalingrad
Freefall
Estocada
Night Flight to Paris
The Bridge
The Nurses of St Croix
The Nurses of St Croix
The Sisters of St Croix
The Sisters of St Croix
The Girl I Left Behind
The Girl from Vichy