Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Runaway Women in London
The Runaway Women in London: A heartbreaking story of love and friendship Lesley Eames

1920's London. Share tears and triumphs as four friends join forces in a heart-warming struggle to turn adversity into opportunity. Will a secret ruin everything?

Shortlisted in the Historical Romance category of the Romantic Novel Awards 2019.

Falsely accused of stealing and with problems at home, best friends, Grace, Jenny, Lydia and Ruth move to London to try to rebuild their shattered lives.

Money is tight and with no references to help them their new lives are fraught with difficulty. But the girls are fighters and when Ruth's Aunt Vera leaves her a rather special car as an inheritance they set up in business as lady chauffeurs.

Can 'Silver Ladies' succeed when some men think driving is a man's world? Can the friends find happiness too? Or will one girl's secret ruin everything?

Full of warmth and struggle, this is a perfect read for fans of Elaine Everest and Daisy Styles.

Previously published as The Silver Ladies of London.

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Saga
01 Jul 2018 * 336pp * £2.99 * 9781788545716
REVIEWS
'If you're looking for a delightful story with a happy ending, The Silver Ladies of London is definitely the friend you should invite'
Linda Druijff, NetGalley
'A lovely story of determination and ambition. Such strong characters and a fab writing style. Excellent story that draws you in and allows you to step back in time'
Tracy Clarkson, NetGalley
'Good old-fashioned storytelling!'
Kathleen Gray, NetGalley
'I loved the story, the unusual profession of the heroines and the way they were written, so realistic and full of life ... Highly recommended!'
Anna Maria Giacomasso, NetGalley
'A lovely warm-hearted book. Once started I couldn't put it down'
Noreen Brown-Flynn, NetGalley
'A quick, enjoyable read!'
Sharon Brewer, NetGalley
'A wonderful tale full of fantastic period detail, engrossing drama, poignant romance and powerful emotion, a first rate saga that will delight and enchant fans of Rosie Clarke, Elaine Everest and Jenny Holmes'
Julie Bonello, NetGalley
Author
Lesley Eames
Lesley Eames
Born in Manchester but currently living in Hertfordshire, Lesley's career has included law and charity fundraising. She is now devoting her time to her own writing and to teaching creative writing to others. In addition to selling almost 90 short stories to the women's magazine market, Lesley has won the Festival of Romance's New Talent Award and the Romantic Novelists' Association's Elizabeth Goudge Cup.
ALSO BY Lesley Eames
The Brighton Guest House Girls
The Orphan Twins
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Run to Him
A Girl Called Eilinora
Her Missing Husband: A Short Story
Jessie's Promise
The Wives' Revenge
Nobody's Girl
Lizzie's Daughters
Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts
A Dark And Distant Shore
The Four Streets
ashes In The Wind
Zemindar
Hide Her Name
Jam and Roses
The Throwaway Children
The Ballymara Road
The Sisters of St Croix
The Runaway Family
Ruby Flynn
Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys
The Girl With No Name
The Angels of Lovely Lane
Lizzie's Secret
Lizzie's War
Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams
The Children of Lovely Lane
The Married Girls
The Mothers of Lovely Lane
The Big Wind
Christmas Angels
An Angel Sings
The Girls of Mulberry Lane
Hattie's Home
A Place to Call Home
A Wedding at Mulberry Lane
The Runaway Wife
The Lovely Lane Box Set
The Orphan Girl
The Candle Factory Girl
Miss Mary's Daughter