Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Home to the Hills
Home to the Hills: a heart-rending Scottish saga set in the aftermath of WW2 by Dee Yates

1945.

After the Second World War, Ellen and her daughter Netta make the journey from Germany back to Scotland. Nestled in the hills of the Southern Uplands is the farm where Ellen grew up – the home she left to be with the only man she's ever loved. She is still haunted by her memories... and the secrets she dare not share with anyone.

Having grown up in Freiburg, farm life is new and exciting to Netta. Determined to be useful, she offers to help new shepherd, Andrew Cameron. But doing so might put her bruised heart at risk...

The war took so much from Ellen and Netta. But maybe now the sanctuary of the hills can offer them the hope of a new beginning.

A heartwrenching Scottish saga, perfect for fans of Sheila Jeffries and Katie Flynn.

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Historical Fiction
19 Mar 2020 * 288pp * £2.99 * 9781788545136
Author
Dee Yates
Dee Yates
Born and brought up in the south of England, the eldest girl of nine children, Dee moved north to Yorkshire to study medicine. She remained there, working in well woman medicine and general practice and bringing up her three daughters. She retired slightly early at the end of 2003, in order to start writing, and wrote two books in the next three years. In 2007 she moved further north, to the beautiful Southern Uplands of Scotland. Here she fills her time with her three grandsons, helping in the local museum, the church and the school library, walking, gardening and reading. She writes historical fiction, poetry and more recently non-fiction. Occasionally she gets to compare notes with her youngest sister Sarah Flint who writes crime with blood-curdling descriptions which make Dee want to hide behind the settee.
ALSO BY Dee Yates
A Last Goodbye
God's Acre
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
3 Great Historical Novels
Love & Inheritance - Box Set
The First Man in Rome
The Grass Crown
Fortune's Favourites
Caesar's Women
Caesar
Masters of Rome Collection Books I - V
The Song of Troy
Flora's Secret
Betrayal at Cleeve Abbey
The Four Streets Saga
A Knightsbridge Scandal
The Diney Costeloe Collection
Habits of the House
The Silver Thread
Long Live the King
Burnt Norton
The New Countess
Csardas
Zemindar
The Petticoat Men
The Ladies of Missalonghi
The Sisters of St Croix
The Runaway Family
The Nurses of St Croix
Faded Glory
Before the War
Cathar
The Man on a Donkey
Medici ~ Ascendancy
Game of Hearts
Warrior of Woden
Murder on the Minneapolis
Murder at Cleeve Abbey
Murder at The Grenadier
Murder at St Philomena's
The Witches of St. Petersburg
Smile of the Wolf
Wicked By Design