Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
God's Acre
God's Acre: A heartbreaking WW2 saga perfect for fans of Sheila Jeffries Dee Yates

A heartbreaking WW2 saga, perfect for all fans of Sheila Jeffries and Katie Flynn.

As the drums of war begin to beat louder on the continent, and life becomes more dangerous in cities, seventeen year-old Jeannie McIver leaves the comfort of her aunt's house in Glasgow, to head to the wilds of the Scottish Uplands to start life as a Land Girl.

Jeannie soon falls in love with life on the busy Scottish hill farm, despite all of its hardships and challenges. She feels welcomed by the Cunningham family who value and cherish her far more than her own rather remote and cold parents, and the work is rewarding. She even finds her interest piqued by the brooding, attractive Tam, the son of the neighbouring farmer, and a sweet romance between them slowly blossoms.

But even in the barren hills, they can't avoid the hell of war, and as local men start disappearing off to fight at the Front, Jeannie's idyllic life starts to crumble. Those left behind try desperately to keep the home fires burning, but then Jeannie makes one devastating decision which changes the course of her and Tam's lives forever.

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Romance
02 Apr 2019 * 288pp * £2.99 * 9781788545129
REVIEWS
PRAISE FOR DEE YATES:

'Saga fans are going to absolutely love losing themselves in Dee Yates' enthralling, engrossing and hugely enjoyable historical saga ... Poignant, captivating and a joy from beginning to end' Julie Bonello, NetGalley on A Last Goodbye.

'I absolutely loved reading this heartbreaking tale ... A well-deserved 5* out of 5*' Amanda Oughton, NetGalley.

'A truly empowering story. I loved it and cannot wait for more from Dee Yates' Michelle Russell, NetGalley.
Author
Dee Yates
Dee Yates
Born and brought up in the south of England, the eldest girl of nine children, Dee moved north to Yorkshire to study medicine. She remained there, working in well woman medicine and general practice and bringing up her three daughters. She retired slightly early at the end of 2003, in order to start writing, and wrote two books in the next three years. In 2007 she moved further north, to the beautiful Southern Uplands of Scotland. Here she fills her time with her three grandsons, helping in the local museum, the church and the school library, walking, gardening and reading. She writes historical fiction, poetry and more recently non-fiction. Occasionally she gets to compare notes with her youngest sister Sarah Flint who writes crime with blood-curdling descriptions which make Dee want to hide behind the settee.
ALSO BY Dee Yates
A Last Goodbye
Home to the Hills
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE