Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Foyles Bookshop Girls
The Foyles Bookshop Girls: A heartwarming story of wartime spirit and friendship Elaine Roberts
 The Foyles Girls, 1

London, 1914: one ordinary day, three girls arrive for work at London’s renowned Foyles bookshop. But when war with Germany is declared their lives will never be the same again...

Alice has always been the 'sensible' one in her family – especially in comparison with her suffrage-supporting sister! But decidedly against her father's wishes, she accepts a job at Foyles Bookshop; and for bookworm Alice it's a dream come true.

But with the country at war, Alice's happy world is shattered in an instant. Determined to do what she can, Alice works in the bookshop by day, and risks her own life driving an ambulance around bomb-ravaged London by night. But however busy she keeps herself, she can't help but think of the constant danger those she loves are facing on the frontline...

Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn't be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood – a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war. Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry. Look out for the next book in the series, The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War.

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Romance
01 Jun 2018 * 336pp * £2.99 * 9781788544856
REVIEWS
'A delightful story of friendship, love and hope during the dark days of WW1. Elaine Roberts is a bright new star in the world of sagas and has a fabulous future ahead of her'
Elaine Everest
'Kept me enthralled from start to finish'
Felicity Kemp, NetGalley
'Offers a heart-wrenching insight into how hard life was for the women left at home and how emotions ran high as war continued. A highly recommended read that will pull at your heartstrings'
Kelly Mason, NetGalley
'Was immediately drawn in to this story'
Rhonda Lomazow, NetGalley
'A real heart-warming read. Great story and characters, would love a sequel'
Wendy Haines, NetGalley
'A strong start to what looks to be a trilogy of books about these women and I cannot wait to go back and see how they are all faring'
Joanne D'Arcy, NetGalley
'Skilfully crafted characters and an exquisite storyline all kept my attention from the first page to the last'
Grace J Reviewerlady, NetGalley
'If you're looking for something to make you cry over your tea and warm your heart on a wintery morning, then this is a book you'll want to reach for'
Ellie Jeffrey, NetGalley
'The author did an outstanding job of finding a niche in the saga genre'
Abby Fairbrother, NetGalley
'A richly drawn character study of different women coming of age during a time of much social and political upheaval'
Jennifer Zavaglia, NetGalley
'Poignant ... A brilliant start to a series. I can certainly recommend this to any reader who enjoys this genre'
Kelly Furniss, NetGallery
'A phenomenal read ... A fantastic debut ... Rich in atmosphere and period detail and full of wonderful characters readers simply cannot help but care about!'
Julie Bonello, NetGalley
'A lovely, original story ... The historical details create a lush setting ... If there will be a sequel, I look forward to it!'
Malia Zaidi, NetGalley
'The perfect book for book lovers who love to read about bookstores, those who love historical fiction set in WWI and those who enjoy stories of strong female friendships'
Lori Reed, NetGalley
'A magnificent read. I highly recommend it for all book lovers'
Rose Frum, NetGalley
'I love a wartime saga story and this was a great one ... I couldn't put it down'
Janette Schwar, NetGalley
'Elaine Roberts has done a wonderful job ... A novel which is engaging and full of atmosphere and emotion'
Joanne Dibb, NetGalley
ALSO IN THE SERIES
The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War
Christmas at the Foyles Bookshop
Author
Elaine Roberts
Elaine Roberts
Elaine Roberts had a dream to write for a living. She completed her first novel in her twenties and received her first very nice rejection. Life then got in the way until she picked up her dream again in 2010 and shortly afterwards had her first short story published. Elaine and her patient husband, Dave, have five children who have flown the nest. Home is in Dartford, Kent and is always busy with their children, grandchildren, grand dogs and cats visiting.
ALSO BY Elaine Roberts
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE