Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Girl in the Pink Raincoat
The Girl in the Pink Raincoat: A gripping World War 2 saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court by Alrene Hughes

In wartime it takes courage to follow your heart.

Manchester, 1939.

Everyone hated the heat and the deafening noise, but for Gracie the worst thing was the smell of chemicals that turned her stomach every morning when she arrived at the Rosenberg Raincoats factory.

Gracie is a girl on the factory floor. Jacob is the boss's charismatic nephew. When they fall in love, it seems as if the whole world is against them – especially Charlie Nuttall, who also works at the factory and has always wanted Gracie for himself.

But worse is to come when Jacob disappears and Gracie is devastated, vowing to find him. Can she solve the mystery of his whereabouts? Gracie will need all her strength and courage to find a happy ending.

Head of Zeus * Saga
12 Jul 2018 * 416pp * £4.49 * 9781788543958
REVIEWS
Difficult to put down... A strong and riveting story'
Historical Novel Society
A beautiful and powerful novel not only about a young woman and a first love... An outstanding novel that I highly recommend!'
Dandelions Inspired
'I LOVE The Girl in the Pink Raincoat. It's engaging and entertaining'
Bits About Books
'Absolutely a full five stars!'
Grace J Reviewer Lady
The author has one of those writing styles that draws you in and refuses to let you go... The author uses such powerful and realistic descriptions that I really did feel as though I had travelled back through time in a time machine and that I was part of the story myself'
Ginger Book Geek
'A wonderful mix of intrigue, passion, romance, heartache, devastation, mystery, underhanded tactics, friendship and strength'
Dash Fan
'I love a romance set in war time and this was amazing. I cannot recommend it highly enough'
Chells and Books
Author
Alrene Hughes
Alrene Hughes
Alrene Hughes grew up in Belfast and has lived in Manchester for most of her adult life. She worked for British Telecom and the BBC before training as an English teacher. After teaching for twenty years, she retired and now writes full-time.
ALSO BY Alrene Hughes
The Girl from the Corner Shop
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Run to Him
A Girl Called Eilinora
Her Missing Husband: A Short Story
Jessie's Promise
The Wives' Revenge
Nobody's Girl
Lizzie's Daughters
Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts
A Dark And Distant Shore
The Four Streets
Ashes In The Wind
Hide Her Name
Jam and Roses
The Throwaway Children
The Ballymara Road
Ruby Flynn
Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys
The Girl With No Name
The Angels of Lovely Lane
Lizzie's Secret
Lizzie's War
Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams
The Children of Lovely Lane
The Married Girls
The Mothers of Lovely Lane
The Big Wind
Christmas Angels
An Angel Sings
The Girls of Mulberry Lane
Hattie's Home
A Place to Call Home
A Wedding at Mulberry Lane
The Runaway Wife
The Lovely Lane Box Set
The Orphan Girl
The Candle Factory Girl
Miss Mary's Daughter
The Concubine's Child
Mulberry Lane Babies
The Girl in the Pink Raincoat