Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
In the Cage Where Your Saviours Hide
In the Cage Where Your Saviours Hide by Malcolm Mackay

The independent kingdom of Scotland flourished until the beginning of the last century. Its great trading port of Challaid, in the north west of the country, sent ships around the world and its merchants and bankers grew rich on their empire in Central America.

But Scotland is not what it was, and the docks of Challaid are almost silent. The huge infrastructure projects collapsed, like the dangerous railway tunnels under the city. And above ground the networks of power and corruption are all that survive of Challaid's glorious past.

Darian Ross is a young private investigator whose father, an ex cop, is in prison for murder. He takes on a case brought to him by a charismatic woman, Maeve Campbell. Her partner has been stabbed; the police are not very curious about the death of a man who laundered money for the city's criminals. Ross is drawn by his innate sense of justice and his fascination with Campbell into a world in which no-one can be trusted.

Head of Zeus, an Apollo book * Crime Fiction
05 Apr 2018 * 352pp * £4.99 * 9781786697080
'Fascinating speculative fiction'
The Bookseller
'A sprightly gumshoe caper'
The Sunday Times Crime Club
'Challaid is a brilliant projection. We would happily go there again'
West Highland Free Press
'Richly imagined ... A private-eye novel with echoes of Raymond Chandler and plenty of the freshness of voice that makes Malcolm Mackay unmissable'
Sunday Express
'This alternative world becomes the setting for a typically hardboiled MacKay narrative'
West Highland Free Press
Malcolm Mackay
Malcolm Mackay
Malcolm Mackay was born in Stornoway on Scotland's Isle of Lewis. His first novel, The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter, won the ITV Crime Thriller Award, and was short-listed for several other prizes, including an Edgar Award and a CWA Dagger. His second novel, How a Gunman Says Goodbye, won the Deanston Scottish Crime Book of the Year Award. Mackay still lives in Stornoway.
ALSO BY Malcolm Mackay
A Line of Forgotten Blood
Greasing the Piñata
Dry Heat
Arizona Dreams
South Phoenix Rules
3 Great Female Detectives
3 Great Hardboiled Crime Novels
The Kate Shugak Investigation - Box Set
The Night Detectives
Some Like It Hot
Blood, ash and Bone
The Pants On Fire Detective Agency - Box Set
Phoenix Cold Cases - Box set
San Francisco Noir - Box Set
The Master Falconer
The Body in the Mithraeum
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 16
It's In The Book
Rides A Stranger
What's In A Name
Death Leaves A Bookmark
The Best American Mystery Stories: Volume 17
The Book Thing
The Long Sonata of the Dead
The Scroll
Pronghorns of the Third Reich
An Acceptable Sacrifice
She'll Break But She Won't Bend: Meet DI Hanlon, Britain's Fierce New Crime Heroine
The Final Testament
The Book of Virtue
The Book of Ghosts
Book Club
Eye for an Eye
The Runaway
Fallen into the Pit
Death and the Joyful Woman
Flight of a Witch
A Nice Derangement of Epitaphs
The Piper on the Mountain
Black is the Colour of My True Love's Heart
The Grass Widow's Tale