Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Warrior of Woden
Warrior of Woden Matthew Harffy
 The Bernicia Chronicles, 5

AD 642. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fifth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories. Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband. Tales of Beobrand's fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land.

Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him.

When Penda of Mercia, the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is once more called upon to stand in an epic battle where the blood of many will be shed in defence of the kingdom.

But in this climactic clash between the pagan Penda and the Christian Oswald there is much more at stake than sovereignty. This is a battle for the very souls of the people of Albion.

What readers are saying about the series:

'Historical fiction doesn't get much better than this' ANGUS DONALD, author of The Outlaw Chronicles.

'Matthew Harffy's tale of England in the Dark Ages is nothing less than superb' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY.

'Murder, betrayal and vengeance fuel tribal warfare and personal combat. Beobrand is the warrior to follow' DAVID GILMAN.

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Historical Fiction
01 Apr 2018 * 672pp * £3.99 * 9781786696373
REVIEWS
'Matthew has written another magical, historical thriller'
Mary Urquhart, NetGalley
'The author has done a brilliant job of drawing the reader in'
Stephen Walker, NetGalley
'Oh, what can I say? Another great book by one of my favourite historical fiction authors'
Kaja Korent, NetGalley
'Fascinating. The battle scenes are epic and Beobrand's internal battles as he struggles to deal with the events which take place are just as compelling'
Naomi Greenway, NetGalley
ALSO IN THE SERIES
The Cross and the Curse
Blood and Blade
Killer of Kings
The Serpent Sword
The Bernicia Chronicles Boxset
Storm of Steel
Fortress of Fury
Author
Matthew Harffy
Matthew Harffy
Matthew grew up in Northumberland where the rugged terrain, ruined castles and rocky coastline had a huge impact on him. He now lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and their two daughters.
ALSO BY Matthew Harffy
The Cross and the Curse
Blood and Blade
Kin of Cain
Killer of Kings
The Serpent Sword
The Bernicia Chronicles Boxset
Storm of Steel
Fortress of Fury
Wolf of Wessex
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE