Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Blood and Blade
Blood and Blade Matthew Harffy
 The Bernicia Chronicles, 3

'Historical fiction doesn't get much better than this' ANGUS DONALD.

'Matthew Harffy's tale of England in the Dark Ages is nothing less than superb' HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY.

'Murder, betrayal and vengeance fuel tribal warfare and personal combat. Beobrand is the warrior to follow' DAVID GILMAN.

AD 635. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and third instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Oswald is now King of Northumbria. However, his plans for further alliances and conquests are quickly thrown into disarray when his wedding to a princess of Wessex is interrupted by news of a Pictish uprising.

Rushing north, Oswald leaves Beobrand to escort the young queen to her new home. Their path is fraught with danger and uncertainty, Beobrand must try to unravel secrets and lies if they are to survive.

Meanwhile, old enemies are closing in, seeking brutal revenge. Beobrand will give his blood and blade in service to his king, but will that be enough to avert disaster and save his kith and kin from the evil forces that surround them?

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Action & Adventure
03 May 2018 * 400pp * £14.99 * 9781786696229
REVIEWS
PRAISE FOR THE BERNICIA CHRONICLES SERIES:

'Matthew Harffy's tale of England in the Dark Ages is nothing less than superb' Historical Novel Society.

'A tale that rings like sword song in the reader's mind. Harffy knows his genre inside out and The Cross and the Curse proves it' Giles Kristian.

'Murder, betrayal and vengeance fuel tribal warfare and personal combat. Beobrand is the warrior to follow' David Gilman.

'Historical fiction doesn't get much better than this' Angus Donald, author of The Outlaw Chronicles.

'I was gripped from the very first sentence ... I thoroughly recommend it for all historical fiction readers' Martin Lake.
ALSO IN THE SERIES
The Bernicia Chronicles Boxset
The Serpent Sword
The Cross and the Curse
Killer of Kings
Warrior of Woden
Storm of Steel
Fortress of Fury
Author
Matthew Harffy
Matthew Harffy
Matthew Harffy grew up in Northumberland where the rugged terrain, ruined castles and rocky coastline had a huge impact on him. He now lives in Wiltshire, England, with his wife and their two daughters. @MatthewHarffy www.matthewharffy.com
ALSO BY Matthew Harffy
Kin of Cain
The Bernicia Chronicles Boxset
Wolf of Wessex
A Time for Swords
The Serpent Sword
The Cross and the Curse
Killer of Kings
Warrior of Woden
Storm of Steel
Fortress of Fury
OTHER BOOKS YOU MIGHT LIKE
Master Of War: The Blooding
The Cross and the Curse
Revenge
Survival
Blood and Blade
Kin of Cain
Monsun
Wüstenkönig
Triumph Der Sonne
Der Magier
Die Suche
Killer of Kings
Master Of War
Defiant Unto Death
War at the Edge of the World
Swords Around The Throne
Gate of the Dead
Daughter of the Wolf
Battle for Rome
The Last Horseman
The Mask of Command
The Serpent Sword
Viper's Blood
Silk and Song
Vindolanda
The Death of the Fronsac: A Novel
Triumph in Dust
Emperor
Knives in the South
Imperial Vengeance
Scourge of Wolves
A Suspicion of Silver
Swords in the East
The Encircling Sea
Master of War Boxset
The Bernicia Chronicles Boxset
Conquest
Storm of Steel
Brigantia
Cross of Fire