Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
Jessie's Promise
Jessie's Promise: From the bestselling storyteller by Rosie Clarke
 Women at War Series, 1

From the bestselling author of LIZZIE'S SECRET and LIZZIE'S WAR, a story about a resilient, strong woman surviving adversity post World War 1.

DEVON 1918. When Jessie Hale loses her nursing job at the end of the First World War, she leaves London to become the nurse maid to the Kendle family in Devon.

On arrival she finds the family in disarray. Captain Kendle is a loving father but is traumatised by the war and kept at arm's length by his frosty wife. When their elderly Nanny suffers a bad fall, Jessie has to try to bring the household together. Gradually Jessie finds her place in their lives, becoming devoted to Captain Kendle's lively son Jack, his lovely, but quiet daughter Catherine, as well his invalid Mother.

Jessie soon starts to love her life at Kendlebury Hall, but problems arise when her feelings for her employer start to change...

What people are saying about JESSIE'S PROMISE:

'A beautiful story very well written'

'I quickly got drawn into this book, the description made me realise how tough life in service was'

'Jessie's Promise is a book that HAS to be devoured this year'

Head of Zeus, an Aria book * Saga
01 Feb 2017 * 288pp * £4.99 * 9781784977177
'Great storyline. Brilliant main characters. A very well written book that I would highly recommend'
Stephanie Collins, NetGalley
'Loved the storyline and characters, beautifully written and really look forward to reading more by this author'
Shirley Jones, NetGalley
This read proved to be much more than just a family saga set around the time of war and it surprised me with the depth of the storylines and the feelings and emotions it inspired in me'
Emma Crowley via Shaz's Book Blog
'I loved the characters and I really like Rosie's writing style'
Book Worms and Shutterbugs
'Contains good life lessons that are still applicable in today's society. I am looking forward to reading Rosie Clarke's other novels'
The Avid Reader
A learning curve within a novel... A book that just HAS to be devoured this year. The first book I have read by Rosie Clarke, I am about to go nab her others!'
The Writing Garnet
'I was caught up in Jessie's story from the very beginning, and I loved all the little twists and turns along the way, so much so that I look forward to reading more by Clarke in the future'
Diary of an Eccentric
A wonderful saga, full of determination, hope, love and secrets... a brilliant story'
Ali The Dragon Slayer
This is good old fashioned story telling with a good old fashioned plot... You will like this if you enjoy historical novels where a woman finds love and hope after loss'
Kathleen Gray, NetGalley
Engaging... an enjoyable read'
Maggie Macdonald, NetGalley
The Runaway Wife
Hetty's Secret War
Rosie Clarke
Rosie Clarke
Rosie is happily married and lives in a quiet village in East Anglia. Writing books is a passion for Rosie, she also likes to read, watch good films and enjoys holidays in the sunshine. She loves shoes and adores animals, especially squirrels and dogs.
ALSO BY Rosie Clarke
Christmas is for Children
Lizzie's Secret
The Girls of Mulberry Lane
Lizzie's War
A Wedding at Mulberry Lane
The Runaway Wife
Lizzie's Daughters
Mulberry Lane Babies
Hetty's Secret War
New Arrivals at Mulberry Lane
The Women of Mulberry Lane
Run to Him
A Girl Called Eilinora
Her Missing Husband: A Short Story
Jessie's Promise
The Wives' Revenge
Nobody's Girl
Lizzie's Daughters
Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts
A Dark And Distant Shore
The Four Streets
Ashes In The Wind
Hide Her Name
Jam and Roses
The Throwaway Children
The Ballymara Road
Ruby Flynn
Gunner Girls and Fighter Boys
The Girl With No Name
The Angels of Lovely Lane
Lizzie's Secret
Lizzie's War
Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams
The Children of Lovely Lane
The Married Girls
The Mothers of Lovely Lane
The Big Wind
Christmas Angels
An Angel Sings
The Girls of Mulberry Lane
Hattie's Home
A Place to Call Home
A Wedding at Mulberry Lane
The Runaway Wife
The Lovely Lane Box Set
The Orphan Girl
The Candle Factory Girl
Miss Mary's Daughter
The Concubine's Child
Mulberry Lane Babies
The Girl in the Pink Raincoat