Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Gone and the Forgotten
09 Jun 2022 * EBOOK * £7.99 * 9781838932763

A psychological thriller from the author of People of Abandoned Character. A missing girl. Buried family secrets. An absent father. Is the truth worth searching for?

Fiction / FH (Thrillers)
Extent: 416 pages
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
People of Abandoned Character
Also by Clare Whitfield
The Gone and the Forgottenby Clare Whitfield

Part psychological thriller, part coming-of-age novel from the author of People of Abandoned Character.

An absent father.
A missing girl.
Buried family secrets.
Is the truth worth searching for?

Sixteen-year-old Prue has grown up around secrets. Her gran's stern silence, her mother's teary breakdowns, her aunt's whispered assurances. But now, in the aftermath of her mum's latest 'episode', Prue's decided she's old enough for the truth. She wants to know what it is that makes the adults around her turn tight-lipped and distracted. She wants to know why her mum can't cope. Most of all, she wants to know who her dad is.

Forced to spend the summer in the Shetlands with her aunt, Ruth, and new uncle, Archie, Prue arrives determined to find some answers. But she soon finds herself caught up in a web of family secrets, betrayals and – perhaps – even murder...

Set during one long summer in Shetland, this is a beautifully drawn, psychologically astute novel about a young woman's search for truth, even as she realises the lies that surround her have been keeping her safe.

Praise for The Gone and the Forgotten:

'What a beautiful, absorbing, emotional book. I was on that remote island with these characters, lost in their unfolding dramas and the barren landscape and long-past secrets. I was with young Prue on her quest to disperse the shadows of her past, and certainly identified with many of the things she had been through. A stunning read' Louise Beech

Clare Whitfield was born in 1978 in Morden (at the bottom of the Northern line) in Greater London. After university she worked at a publishing company before going on to hold various positions in buying and marketing. She now lives in Hampshire with her family. Her debut novel, People of Abandoned Character, won the Goldsboro Glass Bell Award and is also published by Head of Zeus.

'I wanted to explore how ordinary families can condition themselves to keep the darkest of secrets – until the truth forces its way out. It's the story of a family's unravelling through the eyes of a confused and isolated 16-year-old girl trying to make sense of the past.' Clare Whitfield.

Dark, twisty, sophisticated crime with a complex central heroine, set in a remote Shetland island – perfect for book clubs.

Second novel by author of Sunday Times Top 30 bestselling People of Abandoned Character. Winner of the Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award 2021, and shortlisted for the Historical Writers Association Debut Crown Award 2021. Still a thriller, but this time botanical and psychological.

MARKET: For readers of Elizabeth McNeal, Shirley Jackson, Deborah Levy but also could reach readers of more conventional crime like Ann Cleeves.


'What a beautiful, absorbing, emotional book. I was on that remote island with these characters, lost in their unfolding dramas and the barren landscape and long-past secrets. I was with young Prue on her quest to disperse the shadows of her past, and certainly identified with many of the things she had been through. A stunning read' Louise Beech

PRAISE FOR PEOPLE OF ABANDONED CHARACTER:
'This impressive debut builds up pace, pathos and intrigue superbly, with plenty of twists and turns' Woman's Weekly.
'A gripping and original take on the world's most notorious serial killer. A perfectly thrilling read for those long winter nights. Highly recommended' Adam Hamdy.
'A mistreated wife suspects her husband might be the Whitechapel killer... Compelling' Sunday Times.
'An astonishing book set in a Victorian London plagued by Jack the Ripper. Whitfield's narrator is Susannah, an ex-nurse who rushed into a rapidly souring marriage with a wealthy surgeon and starts to believe that her husband might be Leather Apron himself. I'd be amazed if it isn't dominating the shortlists come next year's awards season'
M.W. Craven

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Apollo Book