Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Monk
27 Apr 2023 * EBOOK * £4.99 * 9781804545584

Neurodiverse detective DS George Cross investigates the murder of a monk with a complicated past in the new thriller from Tim Sullivan.

Fiction / FF (Crime Fiction)
Extent: 400 pages
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
Also in A DS Cross Thriller series
The MonkA DS Cross Thrillerby Tim Sullivan

'I am insanely in love with George Cross' Stephen Fry

To find a murderer, you need a motive . . .

THE DETECTIVE
DS George Cross has always wondered why his mother left him when he was a child. Now she is back in his life, he suddenly has answers. But this unexpected reunion is not anything he's used to dealing with. When a disturbing case lands on his desk, he is almost thankful for the return to normality.

THE QUESTION
The body of a monk is found savagely beaten to death in a woodland near Bristol. Nothing is known about Brother Dominic's past, which makes investigating difficult. How can Cross unpick a crime when they don't know anything about the victim? And why would someone want to harm a monk?

THE PAST
Discovering who Brother Dominic once was only makes the picture more puzzling. He was a much-loved and respected friend, brother, son – he had no enemies. Or, at least, none that are obvious. But looking into his past reveals that he was a very wealthy man, that he sacrificed it all for his faith. For a man who has nothing, it seems strange that greed could be the motive for his murder. But greed is a sin after all . . .

Perfect for fans of M.W. Craven, Peter James and Joy Ellis, The Monk is part of the DS George Cross thriller series, which can be read in any order.

Why readers love George Cross . . .

'The fact that Cross has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder makes him just as intriguing as the murder mystery' The Times
'A British detective for the 21st century who will be hard to forget' Daily Mail
'The plot is meticulously worked out . . . Can't wait for the next in the series!' Reader review
'I find myself really caring about George and his way of thinking' Reader review
'It's good to believe that somewhere there is a Cross pursuing truth against the odds, and winning' Reader review

Tim Sullivan is a crime writer, screenwriter and director, whose film credits include A Handful of Dust, Jack and Sarah, and Cold Feet. His crime series featuring the socially awkward but brilliantly persistent DS George Cross has topped the book charts and been widely acclaimed. Tim lives in North London with his wife Rachel, the Emmy Award-winning producer of The Barefoot Contessa and Pioneer Woman. To find out more about the author, please visit TimSullivan.co.uk

The highly original, neurodiverse detective DS George Cross solves all his crimes with Holmesian precision.

The first two books in the series, The Dentist and The Cyclist were successfully self-published, selling 200,000 copies to date.

Author is an acclaimed film and TV writer/director, whose credits include Where Angels Fear to Tread, Jack and Sarah, Maigret, Sherlock and Shrek.

MARKET: Peter James; Mark Billingham; Peter Robinson; Simon McCleave.


PRAISE FOR THE DS CROSS THRILLERS:
'I am insanely in love with George Cross, a perfect detective for our time and for all time. His complexity, orneriness and dogged persistence makes for such a complete and admirable hero... The Patient is a cracking mystery, full of twists and surprises to the end' Stephen Fry.
'Sullivan has given us a British detective for the 21st century who will be hard to forget' Daily Mail.
'The fact that Cross has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder makes him just as intriguing as the murder mystery' The Times.
'Superb, clever and taut' Belfast Telegraph.
'There is so much to uncover in this fantastic novel... Loved it’
Frost Magazine

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book