Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Politician
10 Nov 2022 * EBOOK * £0.99 * 9781801107815

Bristol detective DS George Cross investigates a murdered politician in the new police procedural from Tim Sullivan.

Fiction / FF (Crime Fiction)
Extent: 416 pages
Exclusive: GB AU NZ IN ZA SG   Not for sale: CA US
Also in A DS Cross Thriller series
The Politician: The unmissable new thriller with an unforgettable detective – a must-read series for 2022A DS Cross Thrillerby Tim Sullivan

'I am insanely in love with George Cross, a perfect detective for our time and for all time' Stephen Fry

A ransacked room. A dead politician. A burglary gone wrong – or a staged murder?

THE DETECTIVE

DS George Cross loves puzzles – he's good at them – and he immediately spots one when he begins investigating the death of former mayor Peggy Frampton. It looks like a burglary that went horribly wrong to most but George can see what others can't – that this was murder.

THE PUZZLE

After her political career ended, Peggy became a controversial blogger whose forthright opinions attracted a battalion of online trolls. And then there's her family: an unfaithful husband and a gambling-addicted son. With yet more enemies in her past, the potential suspects are unending.

THE SUSPECTS

Cross must unpick the never-ending list of seedy connections to find her killer – but the sheer number of suspects is clouding his usually impeccable logic. He's a relentlessly methodical detective, but no case can last forever. And politics can be a dangerous game – especially for people who don't know the rules . . .

Perfect for fans of M.W. Craven, Peter James and Joy Ellis, The Politician is part of the DS George Cross thriller series, which can be read in any order.

'True characters, a fresh setting, and a good mystery – this one's got the lot.' The Morning Star

Why readers love George Cross . . .
'The fact that Cross has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder makes him just as intriguing as the murder mystery' The Times
'A British detective for the 21st century who will be hard to forget' Daily Mail
'A compelling, suspenseful police procedural with an intimate, positive insight into living on the autistic spectrum' Woman
'The enigmatic DS Cross is a joy to get to know' Reader Review
'One hell of a detective' Reader review

Tim Sullivan is a crime writer, screenwriter and director, whose film credits include A Handful of Dust, Jack and Sarah, and Cold Feet. His crime series featuring the socially awkward but brilliantly persistent DS George Cross has topped the book charts and been widely acclaimed. Tim lives in North London with his wife Rachel, the Emmy Award-winning producer of The Barefoot Contessa and Pioneer Woman. To find out more about the author, please visit TimSullivan.co.uk

The first two books in the series, The Dentist and The Cyclist were successfully self-published, selling 200,000 copies to date.

Author is an acclaimed film and TV writer/director, whose credits include Where Angels Fear to Tread, Jack and Sarah, Maigret, Sherlock and Shrek.

MARKET: Peter James; Mark Billingham; JD Kirk; Joy Ellis; Midsomer Murders (TV); Sherlock (TV).


'True characters, a fresh setting, and a good mystery – this one's got the lot' Morning Star

'Cross and Ottey – a genius pairing' Annabelle & Grace

'While Cross is a truly unique laugh-out-loud creation, The Politician itself is a rock-solid crime novel of the highest order' Irish Independent

PRAISE FOR THE DS CROSS THRILLERS:
'I am insanely in love with George Cross, a perfect detective for our time and for all time. His complexity, orneriness and dogged persistence makes for such a complete and admirable hero... The Patient is a cracking mystery, full of twists and surprises to the end' Stephen Fry.
'Sullivan has given us a British detective for the 21st century who will be hard to forget' Daily Mail.
'Superb, clever and taut' Belfast Telegraph.
'The fact that Cross has been diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder makes him just as intriguing as the murder mystery' The Times.
'Fantastic police procedurals and attention to detail' Bishop's Stortford Independent.
'An absolute cracker' The Bookbag.
'There is so much to uncover in this fantastic novel... Loved it'
Frost Magazine

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books | An Aries Book