Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Canary Keeper
06 Feb 2020 * PAPERBACK * £8.99 * 9781786690609

A historical epic, weaving suspense, adventure and romance into an exhilarating thriller, set in Victorian London.

Fiction / FFH (Crime Fiction)
Extent: 384 pages  Format: 198 x 129 mm
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
The Dark Isle
Orkney Twilight
The Salt Marsh
Also by Clare Carson
The Canary KeeperClare Carson

'Historical fiction at its very best' ELLY GRIFFITHS.

A Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month.

They will see me hang for this.
London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. Talk soon spreads of the killer and his striking accomplice: a young widow in mourning dress.

Birdie Quinn's sleeplessness led her to the river that morning. She has always been wilful, haughty, different... but is she a murderess?

To clear her name, she must retrace the dead man's footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make to save her life.

This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton.

'Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade' ELLY GRIFFITHS.

'What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' LESLEY THOMSON.

'Unearths startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' THE TIMES.

'A top quality piece of historical fiction' iSCOT MAGAZINE.

Clare Carson grew up in the suburbs of London. She studied anthropology at university, and lived for a while in villages in Tanzania and Zimbabwe doing ethnographic research. She has worked as an adviser on human rights and international development for nearly twenty years and has written three novels, all published by Head of Zeus. She lives by the sea in Sussex with her partner, two daughters and a couple of very large cats.

Atmospheric, distinctive and gripping – an exciting standalone from a new voice in historical fiction.

Author weaves in real life characters – Charles Dickens, Lady Franklin – and events – the search for Franklin and his lost crew.

Perfect book club fiction, for readers of Stef Penney and Sarah Waters.

MARKET: Sarah Waters; The Crimson Petal and the White; Stef Penney; Burial Rights.


'Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade' Elly Griffiths

'Carson's story comes into its own as the action moves to Scotland where Birdie begins to unearth startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' Sunday Times

'Gripping ... A top quality piece of historical fiction' iScotland

'What a joy. The Canary Keeper reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' Lesley Thomson

'A gothic tale at its best' Historical Novel Society

'Carson once again demonstrates her intuitive and precise approach to scene setting, and as we journey with Birdie to the remote reaches of Scotland, as she flees a trumped up murder charge ... Highly recommended' Raven Crime Reads

'An almost classic 19th-century mystery with a twist, meaty, dark, full of gaslit menace and beautifully written ... An exhilarating story and marks Carson as an author to keep an eye on for the future' Crime Review Blog

UK TRADE ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 699
✉ orders@macmillan.co.uk

EXPORT ORDERS
✆ +44 (0)1256 302 890
✉ exportregion1@macmillan.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books