Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus

Cover Reveal Coming Soon

03 Feb 2022 * EBOOK * £6.99 * 9781784978402

A dark tale about a young woman navigating the betrayals and ambitions of the crown in 10th-century England.

Fiction / FV (Historical Fiction)
Extent: 416 pages
Exclusive: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
Daughter of the Wolf
Swimming with Seals
The Book of Kells
Also by Victoria Whitworth
Other GodsVictoria Whitworth

At 28, Beatrix thinks her life is over. The neglected daughter of a king's unwise first marriage, she devotes her time to nurse-maiding her twelve younger siblings, a lonely Cinderella in the thick of the murderous and conniving West Saxon court.

When her brother Athelstan unexpectedly accedes to the throne, everything changes. He shocks everyone by sending Beatrix north to marry Sitric One-Eye, the Viking king of York, a pact with heathen pirates that will secure Athelstan his own crown. But Beatrix is far from being the mere diplomatic puppet her brother demands.

Her new life leads her to call into question everything she once trusted: her faith, her family, and her capacity for love. When Athelstan calls on her loyalty, demanding that she betray her husband, she faces the biggest crisis of her life.

Victoria Whitworth is a novelist and academic who explores the culture and society of Britain in the Early Middle Ages, focusing on death, burial and memory. She is the author of Dying and Death in Later Anglo-Saxon England (as Victoria Thompson); The Bone Thief and The Traitors' Pit (as V.M. Whitworth); and Daughter of the Wolf.

New historical fiction for fans of Gabaldon & Erskine.

Based on real historical figures.

Strong local history interest.

Author of the hughly popular Swimming with Seals.

MARKET: Sarah Dunant, Sarah Perry, Sarah Waters.


PRAISE FOR DAUGHTER OF THE WOLF:
'Gripping and highly recommended' The Times.
'A fascinating read [with] an ending that was utterly satisfying' Great Historicals. ,

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books