Sorry, this site requires JavaScript enabled.
Head of Zeus
The Last Horseman
01 Jul 2016 * EBOOK * £4.49 * 9781784974534

An epic historical adventure set during the Boer War.

Fiction / FJH (Action & Adventure)
Extent: 480 pages
Exclusive sale: GB CA AU NZ IN ZA SG US
The Last HorsemanDavid Gilman

South Africa, 1900.

The search for his missing son takes Joseph Radcliffe from the streets of Dublin, smouldering with rebellion, to the trackless veld of South Africa and the bloody brutality of the Anglo-Boer War.

As a former cavalryman in the US army, Radcliffe is no stranger to war, but 800 miles north of Cape Town, under fire from Boer commandos and distrusted by the British forces, he will find his survival skills tested to the hilt.

The Last Horseman is an epic tale of heroism and treachery, love and loyalty, set against the backdrop of a conflict that shook an empire to its core.

What people are saying about THE LAST HORSEMAN:

'Meticulous research, fascinating period details, grab-you-by-the-throat action and wonderfully vivid descriptions of South Africa'

'I had high hopes for The Last Horseman: I was, most definitely, not disappointed'

'This book makes you experience every step and emotion along the way'

'I wait impatiently for his next brilliant offering'

David Gilman enjoyed many careers – including firefighter, paratrooper and photographer – before turning to writing full time. He is an award-winning author and screenwriter.

'A gripping ride through a memorable period of history', Wilbur Smith

'Gritty, compelling, an exciting yet moving tale of love, war and Africa', Tony Park, bestselling author of THE DELTA

'Gilman's writing is, as always, powerful and sympathetic to the subject ... The simply excellent writing drags you from rain-soaked Ireland to the dusty plains of the Transvaal, making you experience every step and emotion along the way', Parmenion Books

'Gripping and full of action, but is also smart and subtle about questions of loyalty and guilt in a war with few good guys', The Times

'David once again proves his ability to add texture into his tapestry in the form of sub-plots and back stories ... A novel that packs so much alongside and under a totally riveting story', The Bookbag Top Ten Historical Fiction Books of 2016

'Gilman had me hooked from page one ... [He] has actually remained neutral in telling the story, a feat that shows what a truly great author he is', Breakaway Reviews

'The writing is sharp, contains some great characterisation ... Back this up with top notch action sequences, more than a few heart-in-mouth moments, backed with good pace and all round it's a series for me to savour with each new offering. Cracking', Falcata Times

'Packed full of intrigue, adventure and excitement ... The writing is skilful, and while the story is a page turner full of adventure, there are moments in which we are reminded that though most of the characters are fictional, the horror of this war was not ... A perfect read for fans of Bernard Cornwell', Historical Novel Review

'Adventurous, thrilling ... The South African maelstrom is well presented, especially the brutality of the conflict between British and Boer and the pitiful situation of the native Africans. The compassionate characters, willing to help regardless of who they are dealing with, stand out in this unforgiving world, and the novel ends on a message of hope', Irish Times

'His portrayal of a war so often overlooked is all too real', Land Magazine

FOR MORE INFORMATION
✆ +44 (0) 20 7253 5557
✉ digitalsales@headofzeus.com

headofzeus.com | @HoZ_Books