One for Sorrow by M.E. Mayer

One for Sorrow
One for Sorrow
M.E. Mayer
Death in Byzantium, Book 01
List Price: £4.99
Save 33%. Enter code OWL33 at checkout
Ebook List Price:
Buy Direct and Save 25%
Enter code HOZ-25 at checkout
Add to basket
Close Cart
Also available from: 1st Dec 2012

‘Darned close to being the perfect history mystery', Booklist.
Byzantium AD 535: Ambition, intrigue, treachery, murder... Just another day in the Imperial Court.

DEATH IN BYZANTIUM: At the heart of what is left of the Roman Empire, lies a city simmering with intrigue & treachery. Amid this maelstrom stands John, a slave who has risen to become the right hand of Justinian, the greatest of Byzantium's emperors. With violence and murder commonplace, it is John's skills as an investigator that the Emperor prizes the most.

ONE FOR SORROW: It is AD 527 and when the body of a high ranking treasury official is found in a filthy alley behind a house of ill repute, John embarks on an investigation that will stir the ghosts of his past and threaten his life. Amid rumours of soothsayers and priceless holy relics, he will follow a trail that twists and turns through the splendour and the squalor of sixth-century Byzantium. Before he reaches its end, John will defy the Patriarch of Constantinople, risk the wrath of an unmerciful Emperor and incur the undying hatred of his infamous Empress, Theodora.

About the author

M.E. Mayer is the husband and wife team of Mary Reed and Eric Mayer. Mary was born in Newcastle-on-Tyne and ran the Theology Faculty office at Oxford University before she emigrated to America and met her husband and co-author.

(also available in Hardback and Paperback)
Published: 1st Dec 2012
x mm
No. of pages: 272
ISBN: 9781908800893

Other titles by this author

The Body in the Mithraeum
The Body in the Mithraeum by M.E. Mayer
Death in Byzantium - Box Set
Death in Byzantium - Box Set by M.E. Mayer
Two for Joy
Two for Joy by M.E. Mayer
Three for a Letter
Three for a Letter by M.E. Mayer
Four for a Boy
Four for a Boy by M.E. Mayer
Five for Silver
Five for Silver by M.E. Mayer
Six for Gold
Six for Gold by M.E. Mayer
Seven for a Secret
Seven for a Secret by M.E. Mayer
Eight for Eternity
Eight for Eternity by M.E. Mayer
Nine for the Devil
Nine for the Devil by M.E. Mayer