Inch Levels shortlisted for Kerry Group Novel of the Year Award 2017


Inch Levels shortlisted for Kerry Group Novel of the Year Award 2017

Neil Hegarty has been shortlisted for the Kerry Group Novel of the Year Award 2017. The award is for the best novel by an Irish author published between 1st February 2016 and 1st February 2017 with a prize of €15,000 for the winning author.

The Shortlisted novels and authors are:

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue.

My Name is Leon by Kit De Waal.

Inch Levels by Neil Hegarty.

Solar Bones by Mike McCormack.

Nothing on Earth Conor O’Callaghan.


Inch Levels is a haunting debut set in the harsh, beautiful landscape of Ireland’s north coast. Patrick Jackson lies on his deathbed in Derry and recalls a family history marked by secrecy and silence, and a striking absence of conventional pieties. He remembers the death of an eight-year-old girl, whose body was found on reclaimed land called Inch Levels on the shoreline of Lough Swilly. And he is visited by his beloved but troubled sister Margaret and by his despised brother-in-law Robert, and by Sarah, his hard, unchallengeable mother.

Each of them could talk about events in the past that might explain the bleakness of their relationships, but leaving things unsaid has become a way of life. Guilt and memory beat against them, as shock waves from bombs in Derry travel down the river to shake the windows of those who have escaped the city.


Neil Hegarty was born in Derry and studied English at Trinity College Dublin, receiving his PhD in 1998. He is the author of the authorised biography of David Frost and of The Story of Ireland. This is his first novel.


You can purchase Inch Levels here 

For further information and publicity please contact


Congrats Neil. Keep going.

Congrats Neil. Keep going. check it out for Airshou ios 10 screen recorder to record your home screen activities. [url][/url]


thanks for the site

Blame and memory beat against

Good Aarticle .