Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
23 May 2016 - 09:05
Submitted by: Blake

Our Book of the Week is Conjuror, by John and Carole Barrowman. The first is a brilliant new fantasy series from the brother-sister writing team who starred in SF favourites Arrow and Torchwood. To celebrate the book getting to #7 in the YA charts this week, we're giving away 10 limited edition Conjuror t-shirts. Simply enter the competition to be in with a chance to win!

19 May 2016 - 04:05
Submitted by: Blake

Red Dirt is the debut novel from E.M.Reapy, a new and very unique writing talent from Ireland. Set in Australia it follows three young people who have travelled to Australia to escape their past lives in Ireland following the collapse of the Irish Tiger. Red Dirt will appeal to fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Alex Garman’s The Beach, and is perfectly placed to be the hit of the summer. Read an extract of the novel and enter our competition to be in with a chance of winning one of 10 copies of the hardback.

16 May 2016 - 02:05
Submitted by: Blake

Our Book of the Week is The Salt Marsh by Clare Carson, the sequel to Clare’s 2015 debut novel Orkney Twilight. The Salt Marsh is a haunting thriller set in the windswept marshes of Kent and Norfolk.

13 May 2016 - 01:05
Submitted by: Blake

Tolerant in outlook, equable in temperament, healthy in lifestyle, and aesthetically productive to a degree that appears out of all proportion to their modest populations, Denmark, Norway and Sweden have long been the envy of their European neighbours.

12 May 2016 - 04:05
Submitted by: Nicolas

Head of Zeus will publish THE GUNS OF EMPIRE, book four of Django Wexler’s The Shadow Campaigns, this August.

Wexler’s “audacious and subversive” (Publishers Weekly) epic fantasy blends military campaigning, political revolution, spy craft and magic.

11 May 2016 - 04:05
Submitted by: Blake

Neil Belton at Head of Zeus has acquired the UK and commonwealth rights from Anna Webber at United Agents for an extraordinary satirical debut novel by Alex Starritt. The Beast is a vivid anatomy of that most uncontrollable and irresponsible of large creatures, the British tabloid newspaper.

09 May 2016 - 11:05
Submitted by: Blake

Our Book of the Week is The Way we Die Now by Seamus O' Mahony. O'Mahony argues that we have lost the ability to deal with death.

05 May 2016 - 02:05
Submitted by: Blake
One of the great pleasures of setting my Tremarnock series in Cornwall is that I have every excuse to keep going back for research. It really is no hardship. I’ve loved the county since I was a little girl when I used to go there on family holidays, and now my own children adore it, too, though these days, the older ones are more into finding out of the way pubs selling strange sounding local beers than messing around in rock pools and exploring caves.
05 May 2016 - 02:05
Submitted by: Blake

Seamus O'Mahony, author of The Way we Die Now was on the Today programme today, talking about his new book published by Head of Zeus in May 2016.

You can listen to the show here, with Seamus appearing 2 hours and 52 minutes in: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b078zcrp#play

01 May 2016 - 02:05
Submitted by: Blake
So, publication day is here and what am I doing?
 
It’s May Day. I can’t believe I’m writing this, that today, my debut novel, My Husband’s Wives, has actually gone out into the world. It is like letting go of a teenager who you know has probably stayed at home too long, but when the moment finally comes there’s an eerie quietness…
 
26 Apr 2016 - 03:04
Submitted by: Blake
Titles and book covers always tell a story. My debut novel The Lie of You has been translated into German, Norwegian and Italian and I’ve been fascinated at how the UK and foreign version titles and covers have highlighted different aspects of the story. 

25 Apr 2016 - 10:04
Submitted by: Blake

Our Book of the Week is Victoria Whitworth's new novel, Daughter of the Wolf, which is set during the Dark Ages in an England ruled by rival kings. Among the lords who serve them is Radmer of Donmouth, the King's Wolf and guardian of the estuary gateway to Northumbria. When the king sends Radmer on a mission to Rome, Donmouth is left in the safekeeping of his only daughter, Elfrun, whose formidable grandmother wants her to take the veil, while treacherous Tilmon of Illingham covets her for his son. 

20 Apr 2016 - 01:04
Submitted by: Blake

‘The home should be the treasure chest of life.’ —Le Corbusier

I admit it – I’m a house person. I’m interested in where people live, their décor, their knickknacks and treasures, and their stories of how they ended up where they did. I watch all those shows – the ones with the plucky presenters who bring camera and crew into someone’s home, peer into their lives, and ‘make over’ years of accumulated inertia – resulting in a fresh, clean, magnolia slate. I secretly fantasize that maybe someone will come and do that to my house (though my husband would no doubt run them off the property brandishing his gardening trowel or rake).

I believe that every house – from your swish modern loft apartment in Shoreditch to your higgledy-piggledy Tudor farmhouse in Kent – and every semi-, flat conversion, footballer’s mansion, and tower block in between – can tell a story.  Just like it’s easy to see a resemblance between people and their pets, people and their houses shape and reflect each other. Home is an important ‘character’ in our lives, just like family, friends and colleagues.